& Employment America
forkliftnow.com - Your Best Choice For a Career As a Forklift Operator!
Your Forklift Career...
To Forklift Training Employment America, where you’ll easily find
all the information and resources you need to start your career
as a forklift operator. Here you’ll find your state or provincial training requirements, information on forklifts and forklift job listings.
And all of this information is FREE to you!
1. You need a minimum high school education or completed the GED.
2. You need to be 18 years old or older.
3. You should be in good physical shape and have good eyesight.
(Wearing corrective lenses or contacts are OK)
4. Depending on the job at hand, you may need to learn other skills. The employer will list what those
requirements are. (for example, you may need knowledge in using a carpet lifter forklift attachment
for a job in a carpet warehouse)
5. Have certification that you have attended and passed an OSHA compliant school for forklift
operation. (see below for a list of schools in your state)
6. You do not need a driver’s license become a forklift operator.
7. Safety Equipment is necessary. You’ll need proper footwear, safety glasses, and earplugs.
Get a great deal here.
Missouri’s top economy areas are agriculture, aerospace, transportation equipment, food processing, electrical equipment and beer. All of these industries rely on shipping supplies in and out of the state using forklifts. Kansas City and St. Louis are two cities that should be at the top of your list searching for licensed forklift operator jobs. Be sure to use the resources on our website listed below for schools available to you.
In the state of Missouri, it is required by law to be certified as a forklift operator according to the guidelines provided by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Forklift license in the
state of Missouri
(OSHA). If you are found to be driving a forklift without this certification, you or your employer could be facing a fine up to $10,000. These laws are enforced because of the dangers of untrained and careless forklift operators that kill or injure workers each year in accidents. You must renew your certification every 3 years and carry your license card with you on the job.
The OSHA has requirements in place that employers must meet for their employers who are going to be operating a forklift. Most employers have a dedicated trainer to teach their employees OSHA required forklift training. Other times they will hire a consultant to do the teaching if no trainer is available.
These are the OSHA industry regulations for both employers and individuals:
OSHA 1910.178 – Powered Industrial Trucks (forklift operator training)
For general industry such as warehouse, port, etc.
OSHA 1910.179(l) - Operator Training for Powered Industrial Trucks (forklifts)
For the construction industry
What are the requirements to become a forklift operator?
Getting a forklift license in Missouri in five easy steps:
1. Find and contact an OSHA and/or state compliant school or trainer near you. See below for a list
of schools/trainers in this state.
2. Upon taking the course, you will usually be shown a course on how a forklift works, forklift safety
and maintenance. You will then take a written examination. Don’t be afraid to ask questions!
3. As part of the course, you will be given hands-on training operating a forklift. Part of this training
will be the walk-around inspection before starting. When you feel comfortable in operating the
machine in the facility, the trainer will then test you performing various tasks with he machine.
You may be using several types of forklifts (counterbalance, narrow aisle, pallet) in your training
or just one kind. It is advisable to learn how to operate a variety of machines so you can increase
your chances at getting a good job. Be sure to learn all of the controls and features of the machine
at hand. Also, don’t be afraid to ask your trainer for more time operating the machine until you get
used to it.
4. When you pass these series of tests you should be awarded your forklift certificate.
Congratulations! You have now met the OSHA standards to become a certified forklift operator.
Be sure to get your certificate and/or operators license. You can use your license for 3 years, then
it must be renewed, usually at the same training school. (for a small fee)
5. Next, search for a forklift job and remember to show your operators license and note it on your
resume. Be sure to search for forklift jobs here at our website! You now have a very good chance
at getting a well paying job.
Forklift Training Schools in Missouri
Wiese 5900 Deramus Avenue Kansas City, MO (816) 472-8282 www.wieseusa.com
Forklifts of St. Louis 4720 La Guardia Dr, St. Louis, MO 314-426-4040 http://www.forkliftsofstlouis.com
A D Lift Truck 5434 Natural Bridge Ave, St. Louis, MO 314-389-1700 http://www.adlifttruck.com/
Shoppa's Mid America 1301 N Corrington Ave, Kansas City, MO 816-421-3352 http://shoppasmidamerica.com/
Met Center 6347 Plymouth Ave, St. Louis, MO 314-746-0707 http://metcenterstl.com
MH Equipment 13475 Lakefront Dr, Earth City, MO 314-567-9250 http://www.mhequipment.com
Forklift America 4316 Bridgeton Industrial Dr, Bridgeton, MO 314-209-9999 www.forkliftamerica.com
Allied Industrial Equipment 9388 Dielman Industrial Dr, St. Louis, MO 314-569-2100 http://www.alliedindustrial.com/
United Rentals 2805 Newman Rd, Joplin, MO 417-624-1121 www.unitedrentals.com
What kind of salary can I make as a licensed forklift operator?
In the state of Missouri a forklift operator can earn an hourly wage of $14.50 or $30,160 per year. Wages can be higher and overtime is also an option in earning more.
For more information regarding employment standards you may contact:
St. Louis Area Office
Robert A. Young Federal Building
1222 Spruce Street, Room 9.104
St. Louis, Missouri 63103
Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
421 East Dunklin, P.O. Box 59
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0059
Great Forklift Jobs in Missouri
Ready to get a great forklift job? Get certified and become employed today! Search our job listings below for your state.