& Employment America
forkliftnow.com - Your Best Choice For a Career As a Forklift Operator!
Your Forklift Career...
To Forklift Training Employment America, where you’ll easily find
all the information and resources you need to start your career
as a forklift operator. Here you’ll find your state or provincial training requirements, information on forklifts and forklift job listings.
And all of this information is FREE to you!
1. Minimum is a high school education, or to complete the GED.
2. You should be 18 years of age or older.
3. You’ll need to be in good physical shape & have good eyesight.
(Wearing corrective lenses or contacts are OK)
4. Other skills may need to be used for the job at hand. The company will list what those requirements
may be. (as an example, knowledge in using a carpet lifter forklift attachment for a job in a carpet
5. Have certification that you have attended and passed an OSHA compliant school for forklift
operation. (see below for a list of schools in your state)
6. You do not need a driver’s license become a forklift operator.
7. Safety Equipment is necessary. You’ll need proper footwear, safety glasses, and earplugs.
Get a great deal here.
In 2011, Arkansas estimated exports totaled $5.6 billion, ranging from aircraft, to poultry. Some of the US’s largest companies are located here, in the main cities such as Little Rock and Fort Smith. Combined with a low cost of living, finding a good forklift job here can get you a great start to a career in shipping and transport.
In Arkansas, you must be certified as a forklift operator according to the guidelines provided by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) – it is the law. If you are caught driving a forklift with no certification, you could be fired on the spot as well as face expensive fines.
Forklift license in the
state of Arkansas
Laws like these are necessary because of the dangers of untrained and careless forklift operators that kill or injure workers each year in accidents. Be sure to renew your certification every 3 years and don’t forget your license card wherever you are working. Keep it with you at all times.
The OSHA has requirements in place that employers must meet for their employees who are going to be operating a forklift. Most companies have a dedicated trainer in place to teach their employees OSHA required forklift training. If no trainer is available, some firms use outside contractors to teach their team members.
These are the OSHA industry regulations for both employers and individuals:
OSHA 1910.178 – Powered Industrial Trucks (forklift operator training)For general industry such as warehouse, port, etc.
OSHA 1910.179(l) - Operator Training for Powered Industrial Trucks (forklifts)For the construction industry
What are the requirements to become a forklift operator?
Getting a forklift license in Arkansas in five easy steps:
1. Find and contact an OSHA and/or state compliant school or trainer near you. See below for a list
of schools/trainers in this state.
2. Upon taking the course, you will usually be shown a course on how a forklift works, forklift safety
and maintenance. You will then take a written examination. Don’t be afraid to ask questions!
3. As part of the course, you will be given hands-on training operating a forklift. Part of this training will
be the walk-around inspection before starting. When you feel comfortable in operating the machine
in the facility, the trainer will then test you performing various tasks with he machine. You may be
using several types of forklifts (counterbalance, narrow aisle, pallet) in your training or just one
kind. It is advisable to learn how to operate a variety of machines so you can increase your
chances at getting a good job. Be sure to learn all of the controls and features of the machine
at hand. Also, don’t be afraid to ask your trainer for more time operating the machine until you get
used to it.
4. When you pass these series of tests you should be awarded your forklift certificate.
Congratulations! You have now met the OSHA standards to become a certified forklift operator.
Be sure to get your certificate and/or operators license. You can use your license for 3 years, then
it must be renewed, usually at the same training school. (for a small fee)
5. Next, search for a forklift job and remember to show your operators license and note it on your
resume. Be sure to search for forklift jobs here at our website! You now have a very good chance
at getting a well paying job.
Forklift Training Schools in Arkansas
Arkansas State University – 2105 Aggie Rd, Jonesboro, +1 870-972-2100 http://www.astate.edu/
National Lift of Arkansas, Inc. - 601 W Dixon Rd, Little Rock,, +1 501-490-0909 http://www.nlofa.com/
Hugg And Hall Equipment Co - Little Rock, (501) 562-1262 http://www.hugghallequipment.com/
Clarklift Of Ark - 12829 Interstate 30, Little Rock, (501) 565-8819
Wiese USA 3113 E Washington Ave, North Little Rock, AR 501-945-2394 www.wieseusa.com
What kind of salary can I make as a licensed forklift operator?
In the state of Arkansas a forklift operator can earn an hourly wage of $13.04 or $27,110 per year. Wages can be higher and overtime is also an option in earning more.
For more information regarding employment standards you may contact:
Arkansas Department of Labor
10421 West Markham Street Little Rock, AR 72205 501-682-4500 http://www.labor.ar.gov/
10810 Executive Center Dr Danville Bldg #2; Ste 206 Little Rock, AR 72211 501-224-1841
Great Forklift Jobs in Arkansas
Ready to get a great forklift job? Get certified and become employed today! Search our job listings below for your state.